Paper Award

Tribology Online Paper Awards

The Paper Award of Tribology Online is given annually to the author(s), either the JAST members or non-members, of the paper(s) judged as the best paper(s) published in Tribology Online (TROL) for the previous three years. All papers are reviewed and judged by the JAST Awards Committee.

- Best Papers-

2016 Awarded jointly to: to Announcement
  • Yu Tian, Dashuai Tao, Noshir Pesika, Jin Wan, Yonggang Meng, "Frexible Cantrol and Coupling of Adhesion and Friction of Gecko Setal Array during Sliding,"  Vol. 10, No. 2 (2015) 106-114. to Paper
  • Kazuyuki Yagi, Hajime Sato, Joichi Sugimura, "On the Magnitude of Load-Carrying Capasity of Textured Surfaces in Hydrodynamic Lubrication," Vol. 10, No. 3 (2015) 232-245. to Paper
  • Kumiko Kamata, Yasushi Kawamura, Ryuji Maruyama, Eiji Nagatomi, Hiroyuki Tazaki, "The Development to Control Simultaneously Viscosity and Separation Temperature of a Two Phase Lubricant for Practical Use," Vol. 11, No. 1 (2016) 24-33. to Paper

2015 Awarded jointly to: 
to Announcement
  • Yoshinori Takeichi, Masato Inada, Kentaro Minami, Masahiro Kawamura, Marian Dzimko, "Tribological Properties of Copper Molybdate Powder Solid Lubricants under High Temperature Conditions,"  Vol. 10, No. 2 (2015) 127-137. to Paper
  • Seiji Kajita, Mamoru Tohyama, Hitoshi Washizu, Toshihide Ohmori, Hideyuki Watanabe, Shinichi Shikata, "Friction Modification by Shifting of Phonon Energy Dissipation in Solid Atoms," Vol. 10, No. 2 (2015) 156-161. to Paper

2014 Awarded jointly to: 
to Announcement

  • Kenta Moriyasu, Tsuyoshi Nishiwaki, Takeshi Yamaguchi and Kazuo Hokkirigawa, "Experimental Analysis of the Distribution of Traction Coefficient in the Shoe-Ground Contact Area during Running,"  Vol. 7, No. 4 (2012) 267-273. to paper


  • Hooshang Heshmat, Andrew Hunsberger, Zhaohui Ren, Said Jahanmir and James F. Walton, II, "Oil-Free Bearings and Seals for Centrifugal Hydrogen Compressor," Vol. 8, No. 1 (2013) 44-63. to paper

2013 Awarded jointly to:  to Announcement

  • Hiroyoshi Tanaka, Tatsuhiko Morofuji, Kakeru Enami, Masaaki Hashimoto, Joichi Sugimura, “Effect of Environmental Gas on Surface Initiated Rolling Contact Fatigue,” Vol. 8, No.1(2013) 90‐ paper


  • Koji Miyake, Takamasa Kume, Miki Nakano, Atsushi Korenaga, Koji Takiwatari, Ryo Tsuboi, Shinya Sasaki, “Effects of Surface Chemical Properties on the Frictional Properties of Self‐Assembled Monolayers Lubricated with Oleic Acid,ʺ Vol. 7, No. 4 (2012) 218‐ paper

2012  Awarded jointly to:
to Announcement

  • Kanao Fukuda, Masaaki Hashimoto, Joichi Sugimura, “Friction and Wear of Ferrous Materials in a Hydrogen Gas Environment,” Vol. 6, No. 2 (2011) paper



  • Robert J. Waltman, John Newman, Xing-Cai Guo, John Burns, Connie Wiita, Mina Amo, “The Effects of UV Irradiation on Z-Tetraol Boundary Lubricant," Vol. 7, No. 2 (2012) paper

2011  Awarded jointly to:to Announcement

  • Hiroaki Koshima, Hideki Kamano, Yoshio Hisaeda, Huijin Liu, Shen Ye, “Analyses of the Adsorption Structures of Friction Modifiers by Means of Quantitative Structure-Property Relationship Method and Sum Frequency Generation Spectroscopy,” Vol. 5, No. 3 (2010) paper


  • Hideyuki Uyama, Hiroki Yamada, Hideyuki Hidaka, Nobuaki Mitamura, “The Effects of Hydrogen on Microstructural Change and Surface Originated Flaking in Rolling Contact Fatigue,ʺ Vol. 6, No. 2 (2011) paper


2010  Awarded jointly to:to Announcement

  • Alan Hase, Masaki Wada and Hiroshi Mishina, ʺAcoustic Emission Signals and Wear Phenomena on Severe‐Mild Wear Transition,ʺ Vol. 3, No. 5 (2008) 298‐303. to paper


  • Seisuke Kano, Yuji Enomoto and M. Munawar Chaudhri, ʺMeasurements of Impact‐Induced Fracto‐Emission from Soda‐Lime Glass and Simultaneous Observation of the Cracking Process by High‐Speed Photography,ʺ Vol. 5, No. 2 (2010) 111‐ paper

2009: to Announcement

  • Yoshiro Iwai, Masato Kitasho, Eisuke Sentoku, Tomomi Honda, Toru Matsubara and Kazuhisa Yanagi, ʺDevelopment of Three-Dimensional Non-Contact Surface Profilometer and Application of Impact Erosion of Metal Matrix Composites,ʺ Vol. 3, No. 1 (2008) paper

2008  Awarded jointly to: to Announcement

  • Takeshi Yamaguchi, Shintaro Hatanaka and Kazuo Hokkirigawa,ʺEffect of Step Length and Walking Speed on Traction Coefficient and Slip between Shoe Sole and Walkway,ʺ Vol. 3, No. 2 (2008) 59-64. →to paper


  • Kazutoshi Takahashi, Yuji Shitara and Shigeyuki Mori, ʺDirect Observation of Thermo-Reversible Gel-Lubricants in EHL by FT-IR Micro-Spectroscopy,ʺ Vol. 3, No. 3 (2008) 131-136. to paper